h1

Living the Travel Channel – Jumeirah

September 9, 2008

First let me apologize for posting so many posts in one day. It is difficult for me to get time to post things as my work schedule is hectic and I feel guilty taking time to do personal things. However, today I am putting an extra long day because I can’t leave until my ride leaves, so I am taking advantage of it.

These pictures are of the Madinat Jumeirah Resort area taken on August 27th. Our “convocation” ceremonies were held here in the conference center. It was quite a “to do” complete with a multimedia/laser/pyrotechnics show. There really were fireworks, I kid you not.
The resort has a conference center, a hotel, several restaurants, and a souk (shopping area) all around these canals.
Around town are camels and Arabian horses like this one similar to the painted cow art project that started in Chicago. This camel had the continents and oceans on the other side.

You might notice that some of these pictures have a hazy look around the edges, as if I were photographing Barbara Stanwick, but it is only because it was so humid (and I mean SO HUMID) that the lense was fogged up. It is interesting to live in a place where the condensation is on the outside of the windows not the inside. Sign of a bad day = water dripping from the airconditioning vents and condensation on the outside of the windows.


It is a very beautiful place and I look forward to going back on a more hospitable weather day.

2 comments

  1. Wow, Dubai! What a place. What an adventure. I can’t believe it was so humid that the camera fogged up. I though Chicago was bad. Looks like a beautiful place, though.


  2. Oh, that last anonymous post was me.
    -Andria Skornik



Leave a Reply

