h1

Caution: Children Running for the Bus

January 5, 2011

Posted by Kanga

sign on school bus showing children in traditional dress
I’ve been scolded by Rupert for posting just this picture with no text. Apparently, he thinks people will think bad things about it. Personally, I think you are all big girls and boys and don’t need me to tell you what to think about this picture. Also, a little reminder that this blog is not for people who live in Dubai. You all are welcome to read/view it, but you can look out your own window and see these things for yourself. This blog is for the few friends and family we have back home who will probably never travel halfway around the world to see these things for themselves.

I thought this picture was charming. In Abu Dhabi, there are pedestrian crossing signs showing a man in a kandoora crossing the street. I don’t have a picture of that, yet, or I would have added it here.

I was just appreciating a small difference in an all too homogenized world.

One comment

  1. Or for people who haven’t yet made it THERE. Been lots of places and love the differences. I hope someday that UAE is on the list of places I’ve been! And the mom & daughter on the school bus is sweet.



Leave a Reply

