h1

No Agenda Travel

January 28, 2011

Posted by Kanga.

cobblestone street

Years ago, I think it was 1993, my mother and I flew to Alaska, rented a car and drove from Anchorage to Fairbanks and back again in a big circular route. We stayed in a different hotel every night and the days consisted mostly of madly driving to the next town. I concluded there and then that was NOT the way to travel.

Current day, my husband and I are in the middle of a two week stay in Instanbul. We have a lovely little hotel room that has a well equipped kitchenette. It is in a tourist area, but in a neighborhood where the houses have been converted into hotels, so it does not have the usual hotel district air.

We have adopted an atypical vacationing style. We don’t have a tightly scheduled itinerary of activities to be checked off. We get up and ask “what should we do today?” We were here four days before actually stepping inside a museum. We are happy to walk the streets and get the feel of the city. Our first day, I was walking down the street with a silly “I’m just glad to be here” grin on my face.

I’m sure there are important things we won’t get to, but I don’t think vacation should be work. Isn’t the idea to take a break from work, enjoy yourself, and be refreshed by the end of it? That’s our goal.

This post has been entered into the Grantourismo HomeAway Holiday travel blogging competition.
http://grantourismotravels.com/2011/01/10/grantourismo-travel-blogging-competition-january/

HomeAway Holiday-Rentals

3 comments

  1. “My husband and I”, we should address you as “Ma’am” on your return?

    Now please get back to some form of schedule, only seven days left! 😉


  2. I love how you travel and share where you are!


  3. Thanks so much for entering our January contest, Carla!

    Apologies for not saying so earlier – I did get here to take a read, along with the other judges, but it’s been a frantic month being our last weeks of Grantourismo, so I think I forgot to leave a message.

    The entries were all so good this month, so thanks for contributing such a high quality post. At last – at long last – we’ve announced the winners of our January HomeAway Holiday-Rentals Grantourismo Travel Blogging competition. Details here: http://bit.ly/hYq2VB

    Thanks again for your entry. We’re announcing the February contest details a bit later today – the final contest is going to be a very easy one! Please spread the word 🙂



Leave a Reply

