h1

Bugging Out

April 22, 2011

Posted by Kanga.
tabby cat sitting in cardboard box

It is about as official as it can get, so it is time to announce our future move from Dubai to Fujairah. (see map) My contract with my current employer is drawing to a close and my last day of work will be June 16th. We will then scramble to move by June 30th. I will start my new job on July 10th.

Why the move? Well, the current job isn’t the right place for me. I’ve made a point of not discussing it here, but it has been a roller coaster of ups and downs and frustrations. I don’t want to be a marketing rep, a facilities manager, an IT technician, a photocopy machine attendant, or even a teacher. I want to be a librarian. Therefore, this is not the job for me.

My new job will be at the secondary school level with about 1/5 as many students and this time they will be all male. I will be the ONLY librarian, the queen of my little domain. My first royal decree may be to move the photocopier (the bane of my existence) out of sight. I advocate for the long overdue paperless society!

We have not found a new residence, yet. We will begin our housing search this weekend.

We will be taking Bert & Oliver with us. It is approximately a 2 hour drive from Dubai to Fujairah, so they should survive fairly unscathed.

We will still come back to Dubai every once in a while to combine visiting friends, visiting favorite restaurants, and shopping for those hard to find items.

I suspect that the next two months will be packed with errands, box packing, wrapping up details, and moving related stress, but there are some things we would like to do before retreating from Dubai.

Our Dubai bucket list:

  • Go to Ibn Battuta Mall to actually learn about Ibn Battuta
  • Visit the Sheikh Saeed House
  • Go to the Burj Khalifa observation deck on a clear day

Suggestions to add to the bucket list are welcome.

7 comments

  1. Spend a day at Wild Wadi!


    • Only if I can find a burkini.


  2. I have a bucket list for you in Fujairah – contact my friend Carol. Think you guys should get along well and join in the local pub quizzes!


  3. All the best as you make the transition to Fujairah.

    Geoff


  4. Don’t have a bucket list idea since my still just says, “go to Dubai”. So excited for the next job and the adventure of a new place. The pain will subside and discovery will be as much fun as the times in Dubai. Two hours is far, but doable for special occasions. Can’t wait to see the new place and hear about moving the cats =D


  5. Locate Barracuda!


    • Been there, done that. Should I really blog about it? Hmmm…



Leave a Reply

