h1

End of a Journey

November 20, 2012

Posted by Kanga.

smiling woman wearing a hat

On Sunday afternoon, my mother, Marian, ended her 88 year journey through life.

Finding a Mother’s Day card was always a challenge, because she was not the kind, sweet, supportive, and unconditionally loving mother that inspires greeting card sayings. She did, however, teach me many things for which I am grateful.

My mother worked hard. She was almost always in motion. When I was young, we lived on a small family farm and there were few tasks she wasn’t willing and able to do. She planted, tended, and harvested a sizable garden. She spent days canning the extra for the winter months. We were able to eat home grown vegetables and fruits all year round. She milked the cows morning and night when necessary. She even bucked a few bales of hay during summer harvesting time. She baked her own bread eight loaves at a time, kneading the large blob of dough by hand. She churned butter by hand. When she had a few spare moments, she would create clothing, blankets, and slippers. My mother taught me about industriousness.

She wasn’t a feminist, but from watching her in action I learned that women are equal to men. She wasn’t dependent on my father. She worked right along side him, just as hard as he did, contributing to the welfare of the family unit.

My mother made it possible for me to become independent. She was not a “helicopter” mother, nor a “tiger mom.” I learned that decisions worked best when I made them for myself. The consequences are mine, as well.

Mom taught me that laughter can get you through the rough times. She taught me that “pretty is as pretty does,” a maxim I still find reliable. Another gem she passed along – if you are doing something, do it well.

Mom, you have my love and thanks.

5 comments

  1. I’m sorry for your loss, especially being so far away. So thankful you have a mom who inspires. She will live on as long as those she inspired inspire others. Blessings on you and your family.


  2. I’m sorry, Karla. May she rest in peace. I love you.


  3. I remember your mom’s bread–amazed me when I saw the loaves out ready to cook. And I agree with your ‘my mom was not a feminist’–she didn’t need to be. If there was a job to do, she did it. Granted, she may have complained a bit, but it got done. And done well! I’m going to miss your mom, Kanga–


  4. My mom and I never got along but like your mom – she inspired independence because she had it in spades. May she rest in peace and you have the strength to get through this with only the best of memories.


  5. Condolences to you and your family. My mom is turning 65, I hope that she has many more years in her life. I only fully understood my mom when I myself became a mother. we love all moms. may she rest in peace. a life well lived.



Leave a Reply

