h1

Sunrise in Fujairah

February 22, 2013

Posted by Kanga.

I finally got my lazy butt out of bed early and headed down to the beach to watch the Sun rise. Sunrise was supposed to be at 6:44 am. I got up at 6:15 and was in the car by 6:28. I was a little distressed to see that the sky was already light, but then remembered that the Sun is on a dimmer switch, so to speak, because the atmosphere bends light. So, I drove (probably a little too fast) across town. By the time I parked and got positioned for this photo session, the sky looked like this.

ocean and an orange glow on the horizon

The horizon was so hazy that I thought this was going to be disappointing. Certainly, it wouldn’t be as spectacular as the photo taken by our friend a few weeks ago. Maybe I would have to do this again on a clearer day.

ocean, orange haze, small arc of the sun appearing

Then the magic began.

ocean, orange haze, half the sun showing

With an impressive finish.

ocean, orange haze, sun fully above the horizon

It was well worth the trouble, even with the haze. I can fully understand why humans once worshipped the Sun.

If you want to see all the pictures, they are here.

One comment

  1. Way to get your lazy butt out of bed! I tried to get pictures of the sun rise in Hawaii but didn’t manage a glimpse of the sun on the day I made it in time 😦 We west coasters have to settle for the sun rising over Mt. Hood. Oh well. Glad to see it was worth it.



Leave a Reply

