h1

Over the Mountains

August 4, 2013

Posted by Kanga. Please do not reblog.

desert pasture with three snow capped mountains in the distance

Friday, it was time to pack up and head out for the other side of the Cascade Mountain range. We were headed for the town where the families of both my parents went to escape the Dust Bowl in the 1930’s. Here they met, married, and started a family.

forrest park area

We stopped for a brief break in one of my mother’s favorite parks. My homeland is so green and beautiful. I thought about this as we drove along and I think I actually understood and appreciated how beautiful it was when I was young. I was very fortunate to have had a childhood surrounded by forests, pastures, animals, and blue skies. Very happy memories.

I’ve added additional pictures – click here.

Leave a Reply

