Archive for October 2nd, 2017

h1

City Blocks

October 2, 2017

Posted by Kanga. Please do not reblog.

long city street

During a video conversation with my in-laws, DaddyBird described my walk home from work as “a few city blocks.” I had to disagree. I have no idea what the measurement of a “city block” is.

Above is the first of these “city blocks.” The flat roof near the top of the trees is the gym building of my campus.

IMG_4914

Next I have to cross this pedestrian bridge.

IMG_4916

Looking back from the pedestrian bridge.

IMG_4917

Then I have to walk down a pedestrianized street. I counted 26 restaurants down one side of the length of this “city block.”

IMG_4920

Then I have to turn and walk down this street to the next intersection – the green light.

IMG_4922

Where I turn again. At least I am now on the street that we live on, but still a long way to go.

IMG_4926

It was pouring rain this night. My umbrella was soaked through as were my clothes and shoes.

IMG_4928

You can see the waterfall from this drain pipe.

IMG_4929

Finally, I get to the bridge over the foul smelling waterway.

IMG_4931

There is our building. Not there, yet, because the entrance to the compound is what I call a city block away from the bridge and once in the compound, I have to walk back to the building.

According to Google maps, it is just over one mile. In the pouring rain and stopping to take pictures, it took me an hour to walk home.

